Barracuda Championship – betting tips 5

With the world’s top golfers spread amongst the French Open and the WGC Bridgestone Invitational, the Barracuda Championship has a second-rate feel to it. However, there is no room for snobbishness when it comes to punting and the weaker field means we can bag a big price winner.   The Barracuda Championship is the only tournament on the schedule that uses a modified stableford scoring system, where eagles (5 points) and birdies (2 points) are disproportionally rewarded compared to pars (0 points) and bogeys (-1 point). It goes without saying that eagles and birdies are crucial and that is where to start our research. Kyle Reifers made an incredible five eagles last […]


French Open – betting tips 41

The centenary of the French Open promises to be a special affair. A bolstered prize fund plus enhanced Ryder Cup points means a strong field has assembled in the suburbs of Paris. Le Golf National is a testing par-71 course that usually plays firm and fast, akin to a British links. Bernd Wiesberger played phenomenal golf on the way to victory last year, the first time the winning score has reached double digits since 2010. Finding fairways and greens will be crucial this week and that should suit Andy Sullivan. The Englishman hasn’t quite hit the highs of 2015, when he won three times but distractions away from the course […]

Andy Sullivan

WGC Bridgestone Invitational – betting tips 14

Several of the world’s top European golfers have been persuaded to ditch the WGC Bridgestone in favour of the increased riches and Ryder Cup points at the French Open. Having ruled himself out of the Ryder Cup that doesn’t apply to Paul Casey but it would be perfectly in character for him to show what the European team is missing with a strong performance in Ohio. Casey is inside the top-30 in the world rankings and after a couple of quiet months he could be ready to explode back onto the scene. It wasn’t that long ago that Casey finished fourth at the Masters and tee-to-green he is up there […]

Paul Casey

Quicken Loans National – betting tips 24

The Quicken Loans National returns to Congressional after a brief hiatus and a tough challenge awaits those teeing it. Coming on the back of such a brutal test at Oakmont, missing the cut in Pittsburgh might be no bad thing. Justin Rose won this event at Congressional in 2014 with a score of 4-under and it is unlikely the winner will get into double-digits under par. The primary challenge this week is tee-to-green and of the last five winners, none were ranked lower than 12th on tour for strokes gained tee-to-green. That is where I started compiling my shortlist and Kevin Chappell leaps off the table. Ranked 10th in strokes […]

kevin chappell